Care homes | Awards & recognition | Care UK

You are here

Awards & recognition

Awards & recognition

We are proud of the recognition our teams have received for their commitment to delivering excellent standards of care.

We’ve put together some highlights of the awards and recognition our people have received over the last few years.

Health Investor Awards

The Health Investor Awards recognise organisations which have made an outstanding contribution in the provision of healthcare. We won in the Public/Private Partnership category at the 2017 awards for our successful partnership with Suffolk County Council,  in addressing the county’s need for more specialist care services.  In 2016 Care UK was also a finalist in the Residential Care Provider of the Year category.

National Dementia Care Awards

The National Dementia Awards recognise outstanding service in caring for people with dementia. In 2016 the team at Care UK’s Broadwater Lodge care home in Godalming won Best Dementia Team for their person-centred approach to delivering dementia care. Two other Care UK homes, Cleves Place in Haverhill and Appleby House in Epsom, also made it to the finals in other categories.

National Care Awards

The National Care Awards recognise outstanding service in caring for people. In 2014 we were delighted when Denise Sewrey, deputy manager at Jubilee House, and Joana Martins, a nurse from Laurel Dene care home, made it to the finals.

Scottish Care National Care Home Awards

Our activity team at Tor-Na-Dee in Aberdeen reached the final of the 2014 awards in the Meaningful Activity Award category after Gosia Duncan and Lise-Lotte Grooby were nominated for their exceptional enthusiasm and creativity.

UK Employee Experience Awards

These awards recognise UK employers who are delivering an exceptional employee experience, including promoting continuous improvement, learning and personal development. We won in the Government and Public Services category in the 2017 awards for our success in recruiting and retaining quality colleagues and supporting them to develop their potential.  

Engage Awards

The Engage Awards are the only customer and employee engagement awards in the UK. In 2016 Care UK was shortlisted for its sustained, ten-year programme to improve communication between care home colleagues, managers and the support teams who help them to deliver great care for residents.

National Association of Care Catering (NACC) awards 

In 2016 Alan Cash, head chef at Mildenhall Lodge care home in Suffolk, and Peter McGregor, head chef at Perry Manor care home in Worcester made it to the regional cook-offs for the Care Cook of the Year award, one of the longest-standing competitions of its kind in the UK.

James Clear, Care UK’s hotel services manager, was named Catering Manager of the Year at the annual NACC awards in 2016, recognising his commitment to excellence and innovation in care catering.

Care Home Awards

Organised by Care Home Management magazine, the Care Home Awards aim to establish the annual benchmark of excellence and innovation for UK care home management, operation and delivery. In 2017 Broadwater Lodge care home in Surrey scooped the prestigious award for Best Individual Care Home.  

Care Home Professional magazine

2016 saw leading social care magazine, Care Home Professional, select our managing director, Andrew Knight, as one of the UK’s top 44 sector leaders. In the words of the magazine’s editor, each person selected makes a positive difference to everybody around them with their attitude, commitment, positivity and expertise every day.

Suffolk Care Awards

The Suffolk Care Awards highlight and celebrate best practice in adult social care across the county. In 2016 Katy Hughes, home manager of Mildenhall Lodge in Mildenhall, won the Motivational Leadership Award for going ‘above and beyond’ and for the improvements she has made to the home.  Cleves Place in Haverhill and Mills Meadow in Framlingham were also shortlisted in various categories.

Gold Standards Framework Accreditation for End of Life Care

The Gold Standards Framework Accreditation for End of Life Care encourages choice and dignity for patients as well as sensitive and effective support for relatives. It is used by the NHS, Department of Health, Age UK and MacMillan Nurses, to recognise the highest levels of end of life care. Several of our homes have achieved this accreditation, including Amberley Lodge in Purley, Forrester Court in Paddington and St Vincent’s House in Hammersmith.

Our safety
to you

Read more